Wednesday, 2 August 2017

President Trump Signs Bill Imposing New Sanctions On Russia, Iran, North Korea

President Donald Trump has signed into a law a bill which imposes new sanctions on Russia for their alleged meddling in the 2016 election.

The White House had indicated that Mr Trump would sign the bill after it had passed through both houses of Congress.

But on Tuesday, US Secretary of State Rex Tillerson said he and the president are not "very happy" about the bill.

Russia denies interfering in the US election, and Mr Trump has denied colluding with Russia.

The bill, which was signed in private at the White House, also imposes sanctions on Iran and North Korea.
Russia already has retaliated by ordering cuts to US diplomatic staff after the financial sanctions package was passed by a group of bipartisan lawmakers.

BBC     News.